Home Page

Author Biography

Author Interview

Available Books

Online Orders


Ray Bates' background and experience as a criminal investigator working with law enforcement and the criminal justice system provide the foundation for a series of police procedurals with hard-hitting realism tempered with sexy romance and fleshed out characters.

Bates is an Oregon native who divides his time between Portland and the Oregon Coast where he writes the Bowers' series.

Ray Bates has delivered a fresh, new police procedural series highlighting the Northwest and Portland, Oregon in particular. Detective John Bowers and his partner Minola Raye deliver a satisfying mix of gritty police work, sexy romance and realistic, forensic sleuthing for crime and mystery fans.

A three-dimensional cast of continuing characters guarantees to keep readers coming back for more. True-crime novels often lack the personal drama, sexual tension and interplay of everyday homicide squads. Bates gives the detectives in the John Bowers’ series multi-layered personalities who must cope with complex relationships, bureaucratic politics and gruesome murders while trying to maintain a normal lifestyle.

What makes this series truly unique is the witty humor and side plots rich with fast-paced dialogue and actors not bogged down in formulaic plots. For readers who like to get inside a crime story and work alongside the homicide team, John Bowers’ procedurals are the perfect match.

There are seven books in the John Bowers series. Three, BLUE BUTTERFLY, BABYLON BLUES and CAMELOT CLUB are available from booksellers now with more to be released in early 2017.

You can contact Ray Bates at


     Copyright© Ray Bates Mysteriest 2006-2016 All Rights Reserved
     Website By:
DandA Design